Skip to main content

NC State News

NC State Experts Can Discuss Key National Election Issues

North Carolina State University experts can provide clear insights into the pending general election and a host of key issues that will face the presidential contenders. These experts can provide perspective and advance understanding of issues including campaign strategy, the economy, the military and foreign policy.

Campaigns, Public Opinion and Media

Dr. Steven Greene, associate professor of political science, 919/513-0520 or steven.greene@ncsu.edu, is an expert on campaigns, public opinion and the media.

White House, Congress and Public Policy

Dr. Andrew Taylor, professor of political science, 919/515-8618 or andrew_taylor@ncsu.edu, is an authority on the White House, Congress and public policy.

Political Communication

Dr. Craig A. Smith, professor of communication, 919/280-3583 or  casmith5@ncsu.edu, is an expert in political campaign communication and the author of Presidential Campaign Communication (Polity 2010), Political Communication (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich 1990) and co-author of the forthcoming Persuasion and Social Movements 6th ed. (Waveland 2012). Smith can explain campaign strategy in the presidential primaries and general election.

Dr. Andrew Binder, assistant professor of communication, 919/513-2430 or arbinder@ncsu.edu, is an expert on the effects of media coverage on public opinion.

Polling

Dr. Michael Cobb, associate professor of political science, 919/513-3709 or mike_cobb@ncsu.edu, is an authority on polling, celebrity politics and survey research.

Military and Foreign Policy

Dr. William Boettcher, associate professor of political science, 919/515-5096 or william_boettcher@ncsu.edu, is an expert on presidential decision making, wartime public opinion, and U.S. foreign and security policy.

Europe, Debt Crisis and Trade

Dr. Mark Nance, assistant professor of political science, 919/515-3729 or mark_nance@ncsu.edu, is an expert on trade, economic and social policy and European politics.

Economy

Dr. Michael Walden, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics, 919/515-4671 or michael_walden@ncsu.edu, is an expert on economic policy, consumer economics and the North Carolina economy.

Finance and Markets

Dr. Richard Warr, associate professor of finance, 919/513-4646 or richard_warr@ncsu.edu, is an expert on finance and financial markets.

Social Security and Medicare

Dr. Robert Clark, professor of economics, 919/515-4568 or robert_clark@ncsu.edu, is a nationally recognized expert on Social Security and Medicare. “Options are clear, “Clark says, “higher taxes or lower benefits.”

Labor

Dr. David Zonderman, associate head of the Department of History, 919/513-2222 or david_zonderman@ncsu.edu, is an expert on organized labor and labor history in the United States.

Judiciary

Dr. Elisha Savchak, assistant professor of political science, 919/515-5072 or ecsavchak@ncsu.edu, is an expert on judicial selection and the Supreme Court.

Latino Community

Dr. Kim Ebert, assistant professor of sociology, 919/515-9011 or kim_ebert@ncsu.edu, is an authority on how and why Latinos participate in informal politics (protest and civic events) and their growing demographics in North Carolina over the past 20 years.

Religion and Politics

Dr. Jason Bivins, associate head of the Department of Philosophy and Religion, 919/515-6102 or jcbivins@ncsu.edu, is an authority on the nexus of religion and politics in the United States since 1900.

-shipman-

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *