Presidential Experts List

NC State Experts Can Discuss Key National Issues

North Carolina State University experts can provide clear insights into the pending general election and a host of key issues the presidential contenders will face. These experts can provide perspective and advance understanding of issues including campaign strategy, the economy, the military and foreign policy. (Contact Matt Shipman at North Carolina State University News Services, at 919.515.3470 or 919.515.6386 or matt_shipman@ncsu.edu — or any member of the News Services staff.)

Campaigns, Public Opinion and Media

Image of Dr. Steven Greene

Dr. Steven Greene, associate professor of political science, 919.513.0520 or steven.greene@ncsu.edu, is an expert on campaigns, public opinion and the media.

 

White House, Congress and Public Policy

Image of Dr. Andrew Taylor

Dr. Andrew Taylor, professor of political science, 919.515.8618 or andrew_taylor@ncsu.edu, is an authority on the White House, Congress and public policy.

 

Political Communication

Image of Dr. Craig A. Smith

Dr. Craig A. Smith, professor of communication, 919.280.3583 or  casmith5@ncsu.edu is an expert in political campaign communication and the author of Presidential Campaign Communication (Polity 2010), Political Communication (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich 1990) and co-author of the forthcoming Persuasion and Social Movements 6th ed. (Waveland 2012). Smith can explain campaign strategy in the Iowa caucuses, presidential primaries and general election.

 

Image of Dr. Andrew Binder

Dr. Andrew Binder, assistant professor of communication, 919.513.2430 or arbinder@ncsu.edu, is an expert on the effects of media coverage on public opinion.

 

Polling

Image of Dr. Jason Bivins

Dr. Michael Cobb, associate professor of political science, 919.513.3709 or mike_cobb@ncsu.edu, is an authority on polling, celebrity politics and survey research.

 

Military and Foreign Policy

Image of Dr. William Boettcher

Dr. William Boettcher, associate professor of political science, 919.515.5096 or william_boettcher@ncsu.edu, is an expert on presidential decision making, wartime public opinion, and U.S. foreign and security policy.

 

Europe, Debt Crisis and Trade

Image of Dr. Mark Nance

Dr. Mark Nance, assistant professor of political science, 919.515.3729 or mark_nance@ncsu.edu, is an expert on trade, economic and social policy and European politics.

 

Economy

Image of Dr. Michael Walden

Dr. Michael Walden, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics, 919.515.4671 or michael_walden@ncsu.edu, is an expert on economic policy, consumer economics and the North Carolina economy.

 

Finance and Markets

Image of Dr. Richard Warr

Dr. Richard Warr, associate professor of finance, 919.513.4646 or richard_warr@ncsu.edu, is an expert on finance and financial markets.

 

Social Security and Medicare

Image of Dr. Robert Clark

Dr. Robert Clark, professor of economics, 919.515.4568 or robert_clark@ncsu.edu, is a nationally recognized expert on Social Security and Medicare. "Options are clear, "Clark says, "higher taxes or lower benefits."

 

Labor

Image of Dr. David Zonderman

Dr. David Zonderman, associate head of the Department of History, 919.513.2222 or david_zonderman@ncsu.edu, is an expert on organized labor and labor history in the U.S.

 

Judiciary

Image of Dr. Elisha Savchak

Dr. Elisha Savchak, assistant professor of political science, 919.515.5072 or ecsavchak@ncsu.edu, is an expert on judicial selection and the Supreme Court.

 

Latino Community

Image of Dr. Kim Ebert

Dr. Kim Ebert, assistant professor of sociology, 919.515.9011 or kim_ebert@ncsu.edu, is an authority on how and why Latinos participate in informal politics (protest and civic events) and their growing demographics in North Carolina over the past 20 years.

 

Religion and Politics

Image of Dr. Jason Bivins

Dr. Jason Bivins, associate head of the Department of Philosophy and Religion, 919.515.6102 or jcbivins@ncsu.edu, is an authority on the nexus of religion and politics in the United States since 1900.