Skip to main content

NC State News

Tag: awards

Apr 20, 2010

Friday Award to Friday

Former UNC system President Bill Friday will receive the aptly named William C. Friday Award for Distinguished Service in Retireman next month. 

Apr 20, 2010

Gold Medal Material

Dr. Jay Narayan has won the Acta Materialia Gold Medal and Prize for exceptional research contributions and leadership in materials science. 

Apr 19, 2010


Industrial design student Sean Coleman returns from three days at the Shell Eco-Marathon event in Houston, where he got behind the wheel of a concept car that he designed at NC State. 

Apr 15, 2010

A Toast To Mindy Sopher

Since arriving on campus 12 years ago, Mindy Sopher has made a lasting impression on hundreds of students and co-workers. Now, as state and local honors roll in, Sopher recalls her first day in Raleigh. 

Apr 8, 2010

Mathematics Singled Out

The mathematics department received the 2010 American Mathematics Society Award for an exemplary program or achievement. 

Apr 8, 2010

Colby Wins Turner Award

Jack Colby, assistant vice chancellor for facilities operations, received the Frank B. Turner Award, given to a state employee who makes an outstanding professional contribution to the built environment. 

Apr 1, 2010

Marshall Recognized

Lisa M. Marshall, director of outreach in the Department of Nuclear Engineering, has received the Landis Public Communication and Education Award from the American Nuclear Society. 

Apr 1, 2010

Best Plant Named

Lo & Behold "Blue Chip" Buddleia (butterfly bush), developed by Dennis Werner and Layne Snelling in the horticultural science department, was named the best new plant for 2009. 

Apr 1, 2010

Beichner Named Fellow

Robert Beichner, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Physics, has been named an American Council on Education fellow for the 2010-11 academic year. 

Apr 1, 2010

Chemical Society Lauds DeSimone

Dr. Joseph DeSimone, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, has been honored by the American Chemical Society for outstanding contributions to chemistry research.