Skip to main content

Foresters Honor Allen

Professor Emeritus H. Lee Allen is the 2010 winner of the Barrington Moore Memorial Award in Biological Science from the Society of American Foresters.

The award for biological research that advances forestry includes a $1,000 prize. Allen will accept it Oct. 28 during the society’s national convention in Albuquerque, N.M., which features a Wolfpack Alumni Luncheon.

Over a 30-year career with NC State, Allen shaped forestry practices and mentored scores of future leaders. He helped transform the Forest Nutrition Cooperative from a regional fertilizer cooperative to an internationally recognized silviculture research and education partnership. The cooperative involves students, staff and faculty at NC State, Virginia Tech and Universidad de Concepcion in Chile, along with supporting members responsible for managing more than 24 million acres of pine and broadleaved plantations in the Southeast U.S. and Latin America.

Allen was named the C.A Schenck Distinguished Professor of Forestry and Environmental Resources in 1998. He received the 2007 Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal, the university’s highest award for faculty achievement.