Skip to main content

NC State Experts Available on Climate, Youth Activism

World leaders are gathering to address climate change at the COP26 summit. Researchers from North Carolina State University are available to discuss environmental education; greenhouse mitigation strategies for forestry and agriculture; the role kids can play in influencing adults’ views on climate change; and preserving or transforming threatened iconic sites and landmarks.

Erin Sills can speak about conservation of tropical forests as a climate change mitigation strategy. In previous studies, she has analyzed policy efforts to control deforestation in the Amazon rainforest. She can be reached at erin_sills@ncsu.edu.

Erin Seekamp can speak about preserving and transforming iconic cultural sites and landmarks threatened by climate change. In a recent article, she proposed that some sites should be allowed to be transformed, rather than preserved. Seekamp is a professor of parks, recreation and tourism management. You can reach her at erin_seekamp@ncsu.edu.

Kathryn Stevenson can speak on the impact of educating youth about climate change. Her research has found educating kids about climate change can influence their parents’ concerns, and also the concerns of voters and local politicians. Stevenson is an associate professor of parks, recreation and tourism management at NC State. You can reach her at kathryn_stevenson@ncsu.edu.

K.C. Busch is an assistant professor of STEM education at NC State. She can discuss climate change communication, the link between student worldview and acceptance of climate change, and climate change uncertainty in classroom textbooks. She can be reached at kbusch@ncsu.edu.

Kathie Dello is state climatologist of North Carolina and director of the North Carolina State Climate Office. Dello can address climate change impacts and future projections. She can be reached at kddello@ncsu.edu.

Justin Baker can speak about climate mitigation opportunities from agriculture and forestry. He was a co-author on a study that evaluated mitigation strategies for forestry and agriculture across multiple economic scenarios. Baker is an associate professor of forestry and environmental resources. He can be reached jsbaker4@ncsu.edu.