Contact

University Relations Staff

University Relations, a unit of University Communications, informs both internal and external audiences about NC State’s achievements in solution-driven research, interdisciplinary innovation, experiential education, and partnerships with business and industry.

Fred Hartman, Executive Director of Public Relations
Covers administration issues and the Chancellor’s Office. Liaison with University Communications in planning the university’s public relations and media relations objectives.
office: (919) 515-7159
mobile: (919) 417-1899
email: fred_hartman@ncsu.edu

News Services

Mick Kulikowski, Assistant Director for News and National Media Coordinator
Covers the Provost’s Office, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and the College of Engineering.
office: (919) 515-8387
mobile: (919) 218-5937
email: mick_kulikowski@ncsu.edu
D’Lyn Ford, Public Communication Specialist
Covers the College of Education, the College of Natural Resources and the College of Textiles.
office: (919) 513-4798
email: dlyn_ford@ncsu.edu

 

Tracey Peake, Public Communication Specialist
Covers the College of Sciences, the College of Veterinary Medicine, the Graduate School and the Office of Research, Innovation and Economic Development.
office: (919) 515-6142
email: tracey_peake@ncsu.edu
Mary Cole Pike, Issues Management Lead
Provides communications counsel and support to the university community.
office: (919) 515-6235
email: mcpike@ncsu.edu

 

Matt Shipman, Research Communication Lead
Covers the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Poole College of Management and the College of Engineering.
office: (919) 515-6386
email: matt_shipman@ncsu.edu

Editorial Services

David Hunt, Senior Editor
Serves as chief editor of publications and websites engaging key university constituents. Provides communications support to the College of Design and other clients across the university.
office: (919) 515-5863
email: david_hunt@ncsu.edu
Tim Peeler, Community Relations Manager
Leads effort to enhance and support public relations activities across the university. Creates news and feature content for a variety of print and digital platforms.
office: (919) 515-6251
email: tim_peeler@ncsu.edu

 

Suzanne Wardle, Writer and Editor
Edits and distributes electronic communications to external constituents. Creates news and feature content for a variety of print and digital platforms.
office: (919) 515-8126
email: swardle@ncsu.edu
Brent Winter, Writer and Editor
Serves as the division’s chief copy editor. Creates news and feature content for a variety of print and digital platforms.
office: (919) 513-3132
email: brent_winter@ncsu.edu

Marketing Communications Staff

The Marketing Communications team brings together experts in all the communication disciplines: strategists, project coordinators, videographers, photographers, designers, writers and developers. We build campaigns that bridge the digital and the physical — and show the world what “Think and Do” means.

Luis Chacon, Director of Web Communications
Directs, manages and implements the university’s web marketing and digital content strategy. Responsible for the NC State website and central social media channels. Serves as a digital strategist, working with campus partners to advance the NC State brand.
office: (919) 513-3884
email: luis_chacon@ncsu.edu
Drew Sykes, Social Media and Digital Content Specialist
Responsible for developing and overseeing the execution of strategic social media and digital initiatives, including writing content and managing the central university social media accounts.
office: (919) 515-7385
email: jasykes@ncsu.edu

 

Alastair Hadden, Content Strategist
Creates marketing content to promote and celebrate the university. Writes and edits copy for all channels, including digital and print advertising for external audiences.
office: (919) 515-1005
email: aghadden@ncsu.edu