Skip to main content

University Relations Staff

University Relations, a unit of University Communications, informs both internal and external audiences about NC State’s achievements in solution-driven research, interdisciplinary innovation, experiential education, and partnerships with business and industry.

Fred Hartman, Executive Director of Public Relations
Covers administration issues and the Chancellor’s Office. Liaison with University Communications in planning the university’s public relations and media relations objectives.
office: (919) 515-7159
mobile: (919) 417-1899
email: fred_hartman@ncsu.edu

News Services

Mick Kulikowski, Director of Strategic Communications and Media Relations
Covers the Provost’s Office, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and the College of Engineering.
office: (919) 515-8387
mobile: (919) 218-5937
email: mick_kulikowski@ncsu.edu

D’Lyn Ford, Public Communication Specialist
Covers the College of Education, the College of Natural Resources and the College of Textiles.
office: (919) 513-4798
email: dlyn_ford@ncsu.edu

Tracey Peake, Public Communication Specialist
Covers the College of Sciences, the College of Veterinary Medicine and the Graduate School.
office: (919) 515-6142
email: tracey_peake@ncsu.edu

Mary Cole Pike, Issues Management Lead
Provides communications counsel and support to the university community.
office: (919) 515-6235
email: mcpike@ncsu.edu

Matt Shipman, Research Communication Lead
Covers the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Poole College of Management, the College of Engineering, and
the Office of Research and Innovation.
office: (919) 515-6386
email: matt_shipman@ncsu.edu

Lauren Leslie Barker, Senior Media Relations Strategist
Serves as the liaison between NC State and broadcast media.
office: (919) 515-4734
email: lauren_barker@ncsu.edu

Editorial Services

David Hunt, Director of Editorial Services
Leads efforts to inform and engage key university audiences through targeted news and information channels.
office: (919) 515-5863
email: dphunt@ncsu.edu

Brent Winter, Senior Editor
Chief copy editor and editorial brand manager. Oversees writing and editing services for campus clients, priority publications, the mass email distribution system and the central university calendar.
office: (919) 513-3132
email: brent_winter@ncsu.edu

Thyrie Bland, Writer and Editor
Edits the university calendar and provides communications support to University Human Resources.
office: (919) 515-5896
email: tbland@ncsu.edu

Tim Peeler, Communication Strategist
Leads strategic initiatives to promote the university’s impact on the state, region and nation. Creates news and feature content for a variety of print and digital platforms.
office: (919) 515-6251
email: tim_peeler@ncsu.edu

Suzanne Stanard, Internal Communications Lead
Spearheads efforts to enhance and support internal communications across the university. Chief editor of the Bulletin, the official news source for faculty and staff.
office: (919) 513-3119
email: sjstanar@ncsu.edu

Suzanne Wardle, Writer and Editor
Edits and distributes electronic communications to external constituents. Creates news and feature content for a variety of print and digital platforms.
office: (919) 515-8126
email: slwardle@ncsu.edu

Marketing Communications Staff

The Marketing Communications team brings together experts in all the communication disciplines: strategists, project coordinators, videographers, photographers, designers, writers and developers. We build campaigns that bridge the digital and the physical — and show the world what “Think and Do” means.

Luis Chacon, Senior Director for Web and Digital Strategy
Directs, manages and implements the university’s web marketing and digital content strategy. Responsible for the NC State website and the Social Media Strategy Hub. Serves as a digital strategist, working with campus partners to advance the NC State brand.
office: (919) 513-3884
email: luis_chacon@ncsu.edu

Drew Sykes, Director of the Social Media Strategy Hub
Responsible for the development and implementation of the university social media strategy. Leads and mentors the Social Media Strategy Hub which is an integrated marketing and communications center that brings together social media experts and cutting edge technology to provide resources for real-time issues management and for developing and executing data-driven decisions for marketing and communications campaigns.
office: (919) 515-7385
email: jasykes@ncsu.edu

Alastair Hadden, Content Strategist
Creates marketing content to promote and celebrate the university. Writes and edits copy for all channels, including digital and print advertising for external audiences.
office: (919) 515-1005
email: aghadden@ncsu.edu