Skip to main content

Five Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

Five faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

These NC State fellows are among 503 scientists to be honored this year by AAAS, the world’s largest scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science:

  • Dr. H.T. Banks, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor and Drexel Professor of Mathematics
  • Dr. Robert J. Beichner, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Physics
  • Dr. Craig V. Sullivan, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Biology
  • Dr. David W. Threadgill, professor and department head of genetics
  • Dr. Robert J. Trew, Alton and Mildred Lancaster Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Banks was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of applied mathematics, particularly in quantitative modeling in the biomedical sciences and other areas of science and engineering.

Beichner was recognized for his outstanding contributions to K-16 education and for sustained and exemplary leadership in the physics education community, particularly for his development of SCALE-UP pedagogy.

Sullivan was recognized for distinguished contributions to vertebrate reproductive biology, advancing our knowledge of oogenesis in fishes, and establishing striped bass farming as a major form of aquaculture.

Threadgill was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of genetics, particularly for envisioning the Collaborative Cross model and establishing a new paradigm for pre-clinical drug safety testing.

Trew was recognized for distinguished contributions to the science and engineering of millimeter and microwave devices, and leadership in advancing research and education in communication and radar systems.

Each year, the AAAS Council—the policymaking body of the society—elects members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.” Fellows are nominated by their peers and undergo an extensive review process.

The NC State fellows will be recognized at the AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in February.