Skip to main content

Teaching Awards Announced

NC State has announced its top teaching awards for 2013-14.

George R. Hess, Forestry and Environmental Resources, received the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award, coordinated by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Faculty Development, is the most prestigious award given to faculty for teaching excellence. It was established in 1993 to underscore the importance of teaching.

The Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology was presented to three faculty members:

  • Shannon Pratt Phillips, Animal Science
  • Matthew E. Militello, Leadership, Policy and Adult and Higher Education
  • Kay Sandberg, Chemistry

The award honors the creative pedagogy of faculty and technical staff and their work in integrating new technologies into effective teaching strategies. The award was first given in the fall of 2002 and is named for Gertrude Cox, “The First Lady of Statistics,” who came to NC State in 1940 to establish the university’s Department of Statistics.

The Outstanding Teacher Award was presented to the following faculty members:

  • Tarek N. Aziz, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Gary D. Beckman, Music
  • Philip D. Bradford, Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
  • Kimberly A. Bush, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Matthew E. Cooper, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • David A. Crouse, Soil Science
  • Stacy M. De Coster, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Alina N. Duca, Mathematics
  • Sinikka G. Elliott, Sociology and Anthropology
  • James L. Flowers, Agricultural and Extension Education
  • Andrew A. Fox, Landscape Architecture
  • Ashok Gopalarathnam, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Brian E. Jackson, Horticultural Science
  • Hollylynne S. Lee, Mathematics Education
  • Susanna M. Lee, History
  • Steven L. Marks, Clinical Science
  • Lori M. Petrovich, Chemistry
  • D. Scott Showalter, Accounting
  • Stacy Wood, Business Management

The award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels and is a prerequisite for being considered for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching and the Alumni Distinguished Professor Award.

Recipients become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they are NC State faculty. Recognition is given at commencement, the Celebration of Academic Excellence, and the Teaching and Learning Symposium.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.