Skip to main content

14 Score NSF Fellowships for Graduate Research

Street sign on Centennial Campus with students walking.

The National Science Foundation has awarded its prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship to 14 NC State students this year. An additional nine received honorable mention.

NC State’s recipients are:

  • Savannah Victoria Bates, biomathematics
  • Elizabeth Brammer-Robbins, physiology
  • Rachel Ann Broughton, materials science and engineering
  • Johnathan Gage Conzelmann, public policy
  • Charlotte DeVol, biomedical engineering
  • Emily Fawcett, biomedical engineering
  • Stephen M. Gibson, educational psychology
  • Max Joseph Gordon, electrical engineering
  • Ashlee Liao, mechanical engineering
  • Madison Maloney, aeronautical and aerospace engineering
  • Carleen Alexandra McKenna, mechanical engineering
  • Danielle Scharen, elementary education
  • Sophia Tushak, mechanical engineering
  • Rachel Corey White, electrical and computer engineering

The fellowship program recognizes outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees.

Fellows benefit from an annual stipend of $34,000 for three years, a $12,000 allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.