Skip to main content

2 NC State Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

Bird sits on top of the wolf statues outside Murphy Football Center

Two North Carolina State University faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

  • Carol K. Hall, Camille Dreyfus Distinguished University Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, elected for distinguished contributions to the field of thermodynamics, particularly using statistical methods and computer-simulation methods to solve engineering problems involving macromolecules and complex fluids.
  • Jacqueline Krim, Distinguished University Professor of Physics, elected for distinguished contributions to the understanding of atomic-scale friction, wetting and surface roughening and for exemplary efforts in scientific outreach and diversity.

They are among 443 scientists to be honored this year by AAAS, the world’s largest scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Each year, the AAAS Council – the policymaking body of the society – elects members who have shown “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Fellows are nominated by their peers and undergo an extensive review process.

The NC State fellows will be recognized at the AAAS annual meeting in Seattle, Washington, in February.