Oct 15, 2009

Smith Elected Chairman

Clarence L. Smith was elected to a one-year term as chairman of the North Carolina State Board of Refrigeration Examiners.

Oct 8, 2009

Confrey Appointed to Committee

Dr. Jere Confrey, the Joseph D. Moore Distinguished Professor in Mathematics Education, will join 24 other experts on a national school standards committee.

Oct 8, 2009

Giancola Named Tar Heel of Week

Mike Giancola, director of the Center for Student Leadership, Ethics and Public Service,  was named the Tar Heel of the Week by the News & Observer for his work with projects such as the University Million Meal Event.

Oct 1, 2009

De los Reyes Named TED Fellow

Dr. Francis de los Reyes III, associate professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering, has been chosen as a 2009 TED Fellow.

Oct 1, 2009

Rudershausen Pedals for Wildlife

Biologist Paul Rudershausen, a research assistant in the zoology lab at CMAST, put his devotion to wildlife in motion during a 36-day cross-country bicycle trek from the Oregon coast to the North Carolina coast.

Sep 17, 2009

Bikers Make 100-Mile Charity Trek

Two faculty members in Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences will make a 100-mile bike trek this Saturday to raise money for United Cerebral Palsy.

Sep 3, 2009

Humble Hero

Professor John Muth recently returned to campus after serving a year in Iraq.

Aug 27, 2009

Surplus Dorm Furniture Donated

More than 5,400 pieces of used dorm furniture found new homes with local shelters and nonprofits this summer instead of being sent to the landfill.

Aug 20, 2009

Faculty Named to Design Jury

Robin F. Abrams, AIA, ASLA, head of architecture, and Kofi Boone, assistant professor in landscape architecture, have been selected to serve on the jury panel for the Moore Square Design Competition sponsored by the city of Raleigh.

Aug 13, 2009

Professor Appointed to Federal Board

D. Scott Showalter, teaching professor in the Department of Accounting and retired partner at KPMG LLP, was appointed to a five-year term on the Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board.