Skip to main content

Watauga Nominations Sought

It is that time of year when the university seeks nominations for the Watauga Medal, the highest nonacademic honor awarded by the university. You can make one or more nominations to recognize “unusually distinguished service to North Carolina State University.” The deadline for all nominations is 5 p.m. Monday, Sept. 9.

The Watauga Medal, authorized by the NC State Board of Trustees in 1975, is awarded annually to no more than three individuals not currently employed by the university or General Administration, who have rendered notable and significant services for the advancement of teaching, research and extension functions of the university. The medals will be presented at the Founders’ Day dinner on March 3. Last year’s award recipients were Thomas E. Cabaniss, Thomas S. Kenan III, and Robert P. Kennel.

Nominations will be screened by a selection committee, which will forward recommendations to Chancellor Randy Woodson and the Board of Trustees. Nominations should provide members of the committee a full understanding of the nominee’s achievements and contributions to NC State.

The nomination process has now been standardized. A complete nomination will include a transmittal letter, nomination form and the nominee’s resume. Two additional letters supporting the nomination are encouraged.

Nominations for the 2012 and 2013 Watauga Medals are automatically carried forward for consideration for the 2014 medal and do not need to be resubmitted. You can find the nomination form and additional information on the selection criteria online.

Send nominating material to:

Nevin E. Kessler
Chairman, Watauga Medal Selection Committee
NC State University
Campus Box 7004
Raleigh, NC 27695-7004

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.