Skip to main content
Campus Life

New Trustee Appointments Named

For Immediate Release

Ann Goodnight and Robert “Chip” Andrews III have been appointed by Gov. Pat McCrory to the North Carolina State University Board of Trustees.

Goodnight previously served on the NC State Board of Trustees from 1999 to 2007. In addition, she has served on a number of other NC State boards, including the Board of Trustees of the Endowment Fund, the Achieve! Campaign Steering Committee, the CHASS Dean’s Advisory Board and the Campaign for NC State Students. She was a member of the Chancellor’s Search Committee, and a member of the William and Ida Friday Institute for Educational Innovation National Advisory Board. She received the Park Scholars William C. Friday Award in 2008, the Menscer Cup in 2007 and the CHASS Alumna of the Year Award in 2000. She and her husband have endowed multiple professorships as well as the Goodnight Scholars Program, and are members of the A.Q. Holladay Giving Society.

Andrews has served on the Poole College of Management’s Advisory Board since 2010. In addition, he has previously served on the Board of Visitors, as chair of Friends of the Gregg Museum, as chair of the Graduate School Advisory Board, as a founding member and president of the Friends of the Gallery of Art & Design, and as a volunteer leader for the Campaign for NC State Students. He is also a member of the C.W. Dabney Lifetime Giving Society.

Additionally, the UNC Board of Governors appointed Stan Kelly and Dewayne Washington to the Board of Trustees.

Kelly, an NC State alumnus with a bachelor’s degree in business management, has been a member of the NC State University Foundation Board since 2007. He has served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors and the Park Scholars Selection Committee. Kelly was named the 2005 Poole College of Management Alumnus of the Year.

Washington, an NC State alumnus with a bachelor’s degree in multidisciplinary studies, has served the university in a variety of capacities. He currently serves on the Board of Visitors and the NC State University Foundation Board and has also served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors.

The Board of Governors also appointed Jimmy Clark and Susan Ward to the Board of Trustees for four-year terms.

NC State’s Board of Trustees is composed of 13 members; eight are elected by the UNC Board of Governors, four are appointed by the governor, and the remaining member is the student body president.

– 30 –