Skip to main content
Campus Life

32 Students Score NSF Fellowships

Another sign of NC State’s upward trajectory: a record-breaking 32 NC State students earned prestigious Graduate Research Fellowships from the National Science Foundation this year. An additional 26 received honorable mention.

Recipients include 17 students who have completed or will soon complete their undergraduate degrees at NC State:

In addition, 15 Graduate Research Fellows who earned their undergraduate degrees at other institutions have chosen to conduct their graduate studies at NC State:

The program is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, recognizing outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited institutions in the United States. Since 1952, the NSF has funded 50,000 Graduate Research Fellowships out of over 500,000 applicants. Past fellows include numerous Nobel Prize winners and members of the National Academy of Sciences.

Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $34,000 along with a $12,000 allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose. Two thousand fellowships are awarded each year.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.

More From NC State News