Skip to main content

awards and recognition

Oct 8, 2010

NC State Economist Receives UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Public Service

Michael L. Walden, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of economics at North Carolina State University, received the Award for Excellence in Public Service today from the Board of Governors of the multi-campus University of North Carolina. The award, announced during the Board’s regular October meeting, was established in 2007 to encourage, identify, recognize, and reward distinguished… 

Aug 23, 2010

NC State Unveils Coach Kay Yow Memorial

North Carolina State University students, faculty, staff and friends will unveil the new Kay Yow Memorial – dedicated to NC State’s beloved former women’s basketball coach – on Tuesday, Aug. 24 at 3 p.m. 

Aug 20, 2010

NC State Faculty Named Fellows Of American Statistical Association

Two North Carolina State faculty members have been named Fellows of the American Statistical Association. Statistics professors Dr. Subhashis Ghoshal and Dr. John Monahan were among 53 statisticians worldwide to receive the honor this year. They were recognized at a ceremony on Aug. 3 at the annual association meeting in Vancouver, B.C. Ghoshal received his… 

Aug 13, 2010

Comins Named Fellow of the American Chemical Society

Dr. Daniel L. Comins, professor of chemistry at North Carolina State University, has been named a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS). Comins is one of 192 distinguished scientists to receive the honor this year. They will be recognized on Aug. 23 during the ACS’ national meeting in Boston. Comins’ research deals mainly with… 

Jun 23, 2010

Students Receive Degrees At NC State’s Spring Commencement

North Carolina State University Chancellor Randy Woodson conferred 4,566 degrees on 4,299 graduating students when the university held its 2010 Spring Commencement on Saturday, May 15, at the RBC Center in Raleigh. Candidates for degrees were from 98 North Carolina counties, 38 other states or U.S. territories and 40 foreign countries. NC State holds graduation ceremonies… 

Jun 23, 2010

NC State Announces Spring Dean’s List Students

North Carolina State University Chancellor Randy Woodson announced that 6,388 undergraduate students earned Dean’s List honors at NC State during the spring 2010 semester. To make the Dean’s List, students must earn an academic grade-point average of 3.25 or higher if they are carrying 15 or more hours of course work, or a 3.5 grade-point average… 

Jun 1, 2010

NC State To Play Key Role In DOE Team On Nuclear Energy Innovation

Experimenting with new designs and operation techniques for nuclear power plants is a tricky business, since even small changes can pose significant safety and financial risks. But the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is funding a major research initiative that will use computer models to develop innovative new approaches to nuclear power that will result… 

May 28, 2010

NC State Part of New DOE Hub

North Carolina State University received news Friday that it is part of a team that will receive critical Department of Energy funding to support nuclear energy research.  The team, led by Oak Ridge National Laboratory, will been named an Energy Innovation Hub on Nuclear Modeling and Simulation.  The Nuclear Energy Innovation Hub, which includes universities, industry… 

May 24, 2010

NC State Designated ‘Center of Excellence for Watershed Management’ By EPA

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) designated North Carolina State University a Center of Excellence for Watershed Management, making it the first such center in North Carolina. The designation will allow NC State, through its Water Resources Research Institute (WRRI), to continue to develop strong partnerships with other institutions, organizations and agencies in efforts to protect… 

May 12, 2010

NC State University To Hold Commencement Ceremonies May 15

North Carolina State University will confer more than 4,500 degrees on graduating students during its spring commencement exercises, beginning at 9 a.m. Saturday, May 15, in the RBC Center in Raleigh. Media coverage is welcomed. Charlie Rose, Emmy award-winning journalist and host of the “Charlie Rose” show, will deliver the commencement address. 

May 12, 2010

Dr. Marie Davidian To Receive Holladay Medal

The North Carolina State University Board of Trustees will award the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence to Dr. Marie Davidian, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor and Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor of Statistics, in recognition of her outstanding career at NC State. The Holladay Medal is the highest honor bestowed on a faculty member by the… 

May 2, 2010

NC State’s Beichner Honored With UNC System Teaching Award

Dr. Robert J. Beichner, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Physics at North Carolina State University and founding director of the STEM Education Initiative, has been honored with an Award for Excellence in Teaching from the University of North Carolina (UNC) Board of Governors. 

Apr 27, 2010

Trudy Mackay Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Dr. Trudy F.C. Mackay of Raleigh, William Neal Reynolds and Distinguished University Professor of Genetics and Entomology at North Carolina State University, has been elected into the National Academy of Sciences, one of the world’s most important scientific societies. Mackay becomes the ninth current NC State faculty member to be elected into the august scientific society.… 

Apr 15, 2010

Charlie Rose Will Speak at NC State Spring Commencement

Charlie Rose, executive editor and anchor of the “Charlie Rose” show, will deliver NC State’s commencement address on Saturday, May 15, at the RBC Center in Raleigh. The commencement ceremony will begin at 9 a.m. The “Charlie Rose” show is a nightly, one-hour interview program that airs on PBS and Bloomberg and engages in one-on-one in-depth… 

Apr 8, 2010

Two NC State University Students Win Goldwater Scholarships

North Carolina State University undergraduates Nathan Bihlmeyer and Patrick Bowen, both of Wake Forest, N.C., have won prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships for the 2010-11 academic year. Bihlmeyer and Bowen are among 278 recipients of the honor. They were selected from a field of 1,111 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the…