About

What We Do

News Services works to promote local, national and worldwide visibility for the university, its faculty and staff. The office is committed to informing the public and the university community about the quality and diversity of the learning environment at NC State, the level of scholarship and research, and the university’s dedication to finding practical, problem-solving uses of new knowledge and scholarship that will benefit society.

To accomplish these goals, News Services staff members develop and market news articles and story ideas on faculty teaching, research and expertise to print and electronic media. We do this through a variety of methods including media releases, news tips, “pitches” to journalists and electronic distribution of stories via the Web and social media.

Who We Are

The NC State News Services office is staffed by one director, one assistant director and five information specialists.  News Services also employs one office manager responsible for the office’s daily operations.

Staff Roster

Fred Hartman, Director of Public Relations

Covers administration issues and the Chancellor’s Office. Liaison with University Communications in planning the university’s public relations and media relations objectives.

office: (919) 515-7159

mobile: (919) 417-1899

email: fred_hartman@ncsu.edu

Miranda Drake, Office Manager

office: (919) 515-6026

email: miranda_drake@ncsu.edu

Media Relations

Mick Kulikowski, Assistant Director for News and National Media Coordinator

Covers the Provost’s Office, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and the College of Engineering.

office: (919) 515-8387

mobile: (919) 218-5937

email: mick_kulikowski@ncsu.edu

D’Lyn Ford, Public Communication Specialist

Covers the College of Education, the College of Natural Resources and the College of Textiles.

office: (919) 513-4798

email: dlyn_ford@ncsu.edu

Tracey Peake, Public Communication Specialist

Covers the College of Sciences, the College of Veterinary Medicine, the Graduate School and the Office of Research, Innovation and Economic Development.

office: (919) 515-6142

email: tracey_peake@ncsu.edu

Matt Shipman, Public Communication Specialist

Covers the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, the College of Management and the College of Engineering.

office: (919) 515-6386

email: matt_shipman@ncsu.edu

Editorial Services

David Hunt, Senior Editor

Writes and edits news, features and other editorial content to inform and engage the university’s key stakeholders.

office: (919) 515-5863

email: david_hunt@ncsu.edu

Tim Peeler, Writer and Editor

Writes and edits news, features and other editorial content to inform and engage the university’s key stakeholders.

office: (919) 515-6251

email: tim_peeler@ncsu.edu

Brent Winter, Writer and Editor

Writes and edits news, features and other editorial content to inform and engage the university’s key stakeholders.

office: (919) 513-3132

email:  brent_winter@ncsu.edu