Skip to main content
Awards and Honors

Nominate Candidates for Watauga Medal

NC State is seeking nominations for the Watauga Medal, the highest nonacademic honor awarded by the university. You can make one or more nominations to recognize “unusually distinguished service to North Carolina State University.” The deadline for all nominations is Wednesday, Sept. 27.

The Watauga Medal, authorized by the NC State Board of Trustees in 1975, is awarded annually to no more than three individuals not currently employed by the university or General Administration, who have rendered notable and significant services for the advancement of teaching, research and extension functions of the university. The medals will be presented at the Founders’ Day dinner on March 2, 2018.

The 2017 award recipients were Barbara Goodmon, Gayle Lanier, Steve Warren and Steve Zelnak.

Nominations will be screened by a selection committee, which will forward recommendations to Chancellor Randy Woodson and the Board of Trustees. Nominations should provide members of the committee a full understanding of the nominee’s achievements and contributions to NC State.

A complete nomination will include a transmittal letter, nomination form and the nominee’s resume. Two additional letters supporting the nomination are encouraged.

The nomination and all additional information on the selection criteria is available online.

Send nominating material to:

Brian C. Sischo
Chair, Watauga Medal Selection Committee
NC State University
Campus Box 7004
Raleigh, NC 27695-7004

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.