Skip to main content
Faculty and Staff

Teaching Awards Presented

NC State honored more than two dozen faculty members at the 2014-15 University Teaching Awards Luncheon and Ceremony on April 14.

David G. Haase, Department of Physics, received the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award, coordinated by the Office of the Provost and the Office of Faculty Development, is the most prestigious award given to faculty for teaching excellence. It was established in 1993 to underscore the importance of teaching.

From left, Provost Warwick Arden, Paul Mulvey, Audrey Jaeger, David Haase and Jeff Joines.

A member of the faculty since 1975, Haase has been a leader in outreach to K-12 students and teachers. In 1991 he was appointed founding director of The Science House, a statewide K-12 learning outreach program at NC State. The program serves 3,000 teachers and 20,000 students in North Carolina and provides hands-on training in mathematics and science. Haase has also co-authored high school physics textbooks, led numerous science education programs and teacher training programs.

He will be recognized at commencement by a member of the Board of Governors and will receive a medallion and a cash award.

Also nominated for the award were:

  • Billy Flowers, Animal Science
  • Audrey Jaeger, Leadership, Policy and Adult and Higher Education
  • Jeff Joines, Textiles Engineering, Chemistry and Science
  • Leila May, English
  • Paul Mulvey, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
From left, Provost Arden, Ruie Pritchard, Kevin Oliver and Clint Stevenson.

The Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology was presented to four faculty members:

  • Clint Stevenson, Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences (with support of DELTA staffers John Gordon and Mike Cuales)
  • Kimberly Allen, Youth, Family and Community Sciences
  • Kevin Oliver, Curriculum, Instruction and Counselor Education
  • Ruie Pritchard, Curriculum, Instruction and Counselor Education

The award honors the creative pedagogy of faculty and technical staff and their work in integrating new technologies into effective teaching strategies. The award was first given in the fall of 2002 and is named for Gertrude Cox, “The First Lady of Statistics,” who came to NC State in 1940 to establish the university’s Department of Statistics.

Recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award with Provost Arden.
Recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award with Provost Arden.

The Outstanding Teacher Award was presented to the following faculty members:

  • Autumn Mist Belk, Health and Exercise Studies
  • Chih-Hao Chang, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Laura I. Clarke, Physics
  • Gary L. Comstock, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Genessa M. Devine, Textile and Apparel Technology and Management
  • Valerie N. Faulkner, Elementary Education
  • Sarah S. Heckman, Computer Science
  • Jessica K. Jameson, Communication
  • Sanford H. Kessler, Political Science
  • Teresa H. Litzenberger, Forestry and Environmental Resources
  • Jane L. Lubischer, Biological Sciences
  • Frederick Parker, Agricultural and Resource Economics
  • Bobby L. Puryear, Economics
  • Paul D. Siciliano, Animal Science
  • Michael A. Stanko, Business Management
  • Wendy J. Warner, Agricultural and Extension Education

The award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels and is a prerequisite for being considered for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching and the Alumni Distinguished Professor Award.

Recipients become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they are NC State faculty. Recognition is given at commencement, the Celebration of Academic Excellence, and the Teaching and Learning Symposium.