Skip to main content

Two NC State Faculty Will Receive Prestigious Holladay Medals

The North Carolina State University Board of Trustees will award the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence to two faculty members in recognition of their outstanding careers at NC State. The Holladay Medal is the highest honor bestowed on a faculty member by the trustees and the university.

This year’s honorees are Drs. William Adler, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Religious Studies; and Alan C. York, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Crop Science and extension weed specialist.

The medals will be presented during the university’s Honors Baccalaureate and Celebration of Academic Excellence, scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, May 7, in the McKimmon Center.

The Holladay Medal is named for Col. Alexander Quarles Holladay, the university’s first president. It recognizes the contributions of faculty members in teaching, research and service. Winners receive a medal and a framed certificate, and their names are inscribed on a plaque in the NC State Faculty Senate chambers.

Adler has served NC State for more than 25 years. He is a leading expert in early Christian historiography, and the author of Time Immemorial: Primordial History in Christian Chronography from Julius Africanus to George Syncellus. Adler was awarded a Fulbright-Hays fellowship to serve as a visiting professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel, and has received research fellowships from the Annenberg Institute, Dumbarton Oaks, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Center for Advanced Judaic Studies. In addition, Adler has been a distinguished visiting scholar at the University of Basel, University of Adelaide and the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena. He has also served as a reviewer and panelist for the National Endowment for the Humanities. A member of NC State’s Academy of Outstanding Teachers, Adler has received the Outstanding Research Award from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

York has served NC State for more than 30 years as a teacher, researcher and extension specialist. The first extension specialist to be appointed a William Neal Reynolds Professor, York has spent his career working to help growers control weeds and to grow cotton, corn, soybeans and small grains profitably. York has served on the boards of directors of the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology, the Southern Weed Science Society, and the Weed Science Society of North Carolina (for which he has also served as president). York is a fellow of the Weed Science Society of America and was named the 2007 Weed Scientist of the Year by the Southern Weed Science Society.

– 30 –