Skip to main content

college of agriculture and life sciences

Jun 3, 2009

A Passion for Education

In May, Todd Klaenhammer was named the recipient of the O. Max Gardner Award, given annually to the UNC system professor who has made the “greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.” A member of the National Academy of Sciences, the quality of Klaenhammer’s work in the lab is above comparison – rivaled only by the passion he displays in educating students in NC State’s College of Agriculture & Life Sciences. 

May 18, 2009

Team Takes Top Journal Award

A team article by faculty members in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences was chosen for the American Society for Horticultural Science's Outstanding Extension Publication Award. 

May 18, 2009

Klaenhammer Wins O. Max Gardner Award

Dr. Todd R. Klaenhammer received the O. Max Gardner Award – the most significant honor given to faculty by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors. 

May 7, 2009

Hendrickson Wins NACTA Award

Melissa Hendrickson, lecturer in agricultural and resource economics, received the 2009 North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Teaching Fellow Award. 

May 7, 2009

Horticulture Team Takes Top Journal Award

The American Society for Horticultural Science gave its Outstanding Cross-Commodity Publication award to a journal article by a team from NC State. 

Apr 30, 2009

Poultry Club Funds Flocks

The Poultry Science Club raised $2,000 to buy flocks of poultry for farmers in developing countries. 

Apr 9, 2009

Skaggs Wins Communications Award

The Council for Agricultural Science and Technology honored Dr. R. Wayne Skaggs with the 2009 Charles A. Black Communications Award. 

Mar 19, 2009

The Doctor is In

The Health Professions Advising Center helps students navigate the highly competitive process of applying to – and getting accepted to – the nation's top medical, dental, optometry, pharmacy and other health care graduate schools. 

Nov 7, 2007

The Long Run

Peggy Nipper looks back on 50 years at NC State.